Watertown Transit

The Federal Transportation Administration and South Dakota Dept. of Transportation announced Tuesday that Community Transit of Watertown/Sisseton, Inc. has been awarded a grant by the FTA in the amount of $68,402 to assist with the development of a central Call and Dispatch Center for the newly formed organization.

CTWSI began operations in October of 2019 with Watertown being the base location for the transit project. Future plans for the project included the establishment of the Central Call and Dispatch Center in Watertown and a centrally located maintenance facility with mobile capabilities. The grant will be used to research existing facilities with comparable situations, purchase additional communications and office equipment and hire and train additional/existing staff to create and operate the center.

CTWSI is comprised of Watertown Area Transit, Community Transit of Sisseton, Groton Community Transit, Spink County Transit and Faulk County Community Transit Authority.

Currently, the Watertown system is the only one of the five using computerized dispatch and routing services. Co-Executive Directors (of CTWSI) Kathy Holman of Sisseton and Terry Hoffman of Watertown say the award is a major gain for the project.

“We pride ourselves in being efficient and the establishment of this center is a major step forward for transit in our area.” said Hoffman.

“This will allow us to enhance our service with the latest in technology and improve communications to all corners of our service area,” added Holman.

The consolidated public transportation program provides service for 15 counties in South Dakota, including Brown, Campbell, Clark, Codington, Day, Deuel, Edmunds, Faulk, Grant, Hamlin, Lincoln, Marshall, McPherson, Roberts and Spink.