SD DOT.png

The South Dakota Transportation Commission awarded 31 local bridge replacement projects totaling approximately $20 million at their meeting in Pierre last week. Eleven local bridge removal projects, totaling approximately $1.5 million were also awarded.

The bridge replacement award recipients included Codington County, Grant County, Roberts County and 16 other cities and counties in South Dakota.

The 11 bridge removal project award recipients included Hamlin County, Beadle County, Clay County, Hand County, Marshall County, City of Parkston, Potter County, City of Whitewood, and Yankton County.

Two cities and seven counties submitted 11 bridge removal applications.

Overall, 107 bridge replacement applications, totally $95.7 million in total project costs, were received by the South Dakota Department of Transportation. Four cities in 37 counties submitted the 107 bridge replacement applications.

The projects will require an 18.05% local match. In March, the transportation committee allocated approximately $3.3 million to help offset the local match resulting in approximately 5 to 6% share for the local government selected.