Photos show Lutkemeier, as well as a photo of her receiving the ASBSD Gavel from ASBSD Past President Tom Farrell of Madison (left).

Wilmot School Board President Denise Lutkemeier recently began her year-long term as President of the Associated School Boards of South Dakota.

Lutkemeier takes charge of the 18-member Board of Directors on which she has represented the Northeast Region’s 265 and Under enrollment category since 2008.

An exceptionally experienced school board member, Lutkemeier has served for more than 20 years on her local board, including more than 10 years as School Board Chair, and sat on the district’s Personnel and Budget committees. She is Sanford Health’s Cancer Registry Manager.

This term marks Lutkemeier’s second as President of ASBSD, having previously served in the role from 2014 to 2015. She was also re-elected this year as the representative of the Northeast Region’s 265 and Under enrollment category. Lutkemeier received the 2018 ASBSD Outstanding School Board Member of the Year award.

In her tenure on the ASBSD Board of Directors she has also filled national roles as part of the National School Board Association’s Policy and Resolutions committee and on the NSBA Western Region’s Nominating Committee.

“Denise is an exceptional person, leader and school board member,” ASBSD Executive Director Wade Pogany said. “She led the Association impeccably in her previous term as President and we’re excited to have her back at the helm.”

“ASBSD will continue to thrive with Denise as President and we’re looking forward to the upcoming year.”

Lutkemeier succeeded Tom Farrell, who now assumes the role of ASBSD Past President, of the Madison Central School District.

The 18-member ASBSD Board of Directors is made up of local school board members elected from four geographic regions (Central, Northeast, Southeast and Western) and five enrollment size categories (265 and under, 266-699, 700-1,399, 1,400-9,999 and 10,000 and above).

ASBSD is a private, non-profit association representing more than 850 South Dakota school board members, the 149 school districts they govern and the students they serve. Our vision is leadership to achieve excellence for South Dakota public education through a mission of partnering, advocating and leading.