Build Dakota Scholarship

391 total students were awarded the Build Dakota Scholarship this year.

Seventeen Watertown residents have received the Build Dakota Scholarship announced by Governor Kristi Noem late last week. Governor Noem congratulated a total of 391 students who have been awarded the Build Dakota Scholarship for the 2019-2020 school year. 

“The Build Dakota Scholarship program is an incredible tool that makes it easier for tomorrow’s leaders to receive world-class career training, then stay in South Dakota to work in high-demand fields,” said Noem

 Dana Dykhouse, Chairman of the South Dakota Board of Technical Education said that the Build Dakota scholarship will help students jump into high need, well-paying fields in South Dakota.  “Some businesses sponsor students and commit to pay part of their program expenses through industry partnerships that expand the impact of Build Dakota dollars. 

 The scholarships cover tuition and fees, books, equipment, and other related program expenses for eligible programs within nine high-need industry areas at South Dakota’s four technical institutes. Recipients were selected by the Build Dakota Scholarship Board from a total of 1,170 applications.

 “Receiving a scholarship of this caliber is an accomplishment worth celebrating,” added Noem. “Congratulations to each recipient. You and your families should be very proud.”

The Build Dakota Scholarship program is funded by a $25 million donation from T. Denny Sanford and $25 million in Future Funds that were committed by former Governor Dennis Daugaard.

 Build Dakota aims to support students entering high-need workforce programs at South Dakota’s technical institutes to fill the state’s technical career fields with skilled professionals.

 In-state and out-of-state students of all ages are eligible to apply. Scholarship applicants must be accepted into their approved program of interest. Recipients of the scholarship must enroll full-time, complete their educational program on schedule and commit to stay in South Dakota to work in their field of study for three years following graduation.

Congratulations to these Watertown receipients:

Jacob Bauman - Energy Operations 

Sabrina Blair - Welding Technology

Payton Comes - Practical Nursing

Issac Engebretson - Heavy Equipment Operator

Jayden Fick - Precision Machining

Tyler Goens - Robotics

Joshua Kurkowski- Computer Information Systems 

Skyler Matejek - Automotive Technology

Derek Miller - Building Trades Technology

Holly Miller -Registered Nursing 

Carson Pies- Precision Machining

Justice Ries - Med/Fire Rescue

Elise Thorson - Precison Machining 

Andrew Weber - Computer Information Systems 

Jessica Yada - Practical Nursing

Benjamin Fischbach - Collision Repair

Karigan Zietz - LPN